Lie down and die

tumblr_nukoudxk4g1rxhuq8o1_540tumblr_nukoudxk4g1rxhuq8o2_r1_540

So, many of you have probably felt this way, or even done exactly this. Is it not a childhood rite of passage to collapse upon the floor and express disgruntlement with everything and everyone?

But sometimes, when you have a chronic illness, it’s less funny and more . . . descriptive of daily reality. But if you don’t laugh, you’ll cry, right? So all I can do is pray my sense of humour never deserts me.

 

5 thoughts on “Lie down and die”

    1. Hey, a visitor! Thanks for commenting. I’m not always sure how to talk about being ill–it’s really hard to explain to someone who hasn’t experienced it. But it seems like there are a lot of us online!

  1. Love this and sometimes I really feel like doing this but the responsible adult in me wont allow! I am the same too, people ask ‘How are you?’ one day I will answer honestly! Its hard to be continually talking about aches and pains, tiredness etc., if I am fed up of talking about it I feel that probably everyone is fed up of hearing about it!

    1. Yes, “How are you” is the impossible question. Sometimes I’ve wondered if I replied, very cheerfully, “Terrible, thanks, and how are you?” if anyone would notice. It’s great to have someone to listen, though. A problem shared is a problem halved and all that. Maybe some people can suffer in silence, but I’m not one of them.

Leave a Reply

