Bird sighting! Caspian Tern

images.duckduckgo.com It’s been a long time since I posted about birdwatching, though that was the original purpose of this blog. However, on Saturday, I saw a kind of bird I had never seen before, somewhat gull-like but definitely distinct from them. I thought “Maybe it’s a tern!” but then immediately second guessed myself because I didn’t think terns could be found in my area.

When I got back home to my bird book, I discovered that my initial instinct had been correct, and the bird soaring over the lake was in fact a Caspian tern, probably out scouting for fish. So I’m going to put more trust in my first impressions in birdwatching!

Leave a Reply

