img_20170117_151709112
The first section of the hat using practice yarn (why yes, I am very cautious!)

Knitting! Is it some form of wizardry? You take a ball of yarn, add two needles, mess about with them and somehow end up with an article of clothing.

Thus far in my life, the only knitting projects I have completed have been scarves, but, putting fear behind me and venturing boldly into the unknown, I started working on a hat.

Unfortunately, while my stitches are very even, they are also on the tight side, so I may have to switch to bigger needles, as I doubt my ability to knit more loosely with any consistency.

As a novice, I find knitting instructions rather abstruse, but when I puzzle over them with my husband or look up videos online to show me how a given stitch is done, I can usually figure it out. It seems the main thing is to keep on trying. I have a goal to finish one knitting project this year, so . . . we’ll see how that goes.

2 thoughts on “In which I am once again stymied by two sticks and a piece of string

  1. Keep going, the learning is part of the fun, Ravelry is a great resource online, lots of groups for different types of knitting or even regional groups.

    1. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m a perfectionist and thus often frustrated, but I enjoy knitting and want to improve and broaden my technique. I actually have an account on Ravelry, but I haven’t used it in ages! I should go back there. 😃

Leave a Reply

